Fabian Fröhlich | Fantastische Illustrationen | Fantastic Illustrations

Cover Illustrations for the Pulp Series Vampira, 1992–98

Vampira, Gefangen in der Zeit

Gefangen in der Zeit (Trapped in Time)

Vampira is a horror pulp fiction series which was published by Bastei between 1994 and 1999. It reached 110 volumes, 50 in the typical German “Heftroman” format and 60 in in the more paperback-like “Taschenheft” format and with new numbering. Vampira was created by the author Manfred Weinland and the Bastei editor Manfred Schönenbröcher. A new edition started on May 3, 2011.

During the 90s I contributed 18 cover illustrations, all of them oil paintings on cardboard, approx. 40 x 50 cm. Almost all of them (except the covers for vol. 9 and 27 which dated prior to the series) were created after brief descriptions by the editor. As the series subtitle “Dangerous – Mysterious – Erotic” suggests, the motto “sex sells” was part of the basic idea, and the covers reflect that idea (not always, though, sometimes they were allowed to be more mysterious than erotic). The most important accessory of the heroine is a shape-shifting dress, whose literal “life of its own” justifies even the most absurd outfit …

Vampira, Kind des Grals

Kind des Grals (Child of the Grail

The series’ title, “Vampira”, is not the heroine’s name but just a catchy word that summs up what this is all about (and maybe it’s a little hommage to Maila Nurmi). The title doesn’t even appear in the novels. The protagonist’s name is Lilith Eden, a not-too-subtle hint at the series’ mythological, actually biblical, background story that uses Old Testament motives as the fall of men and Noah’s ark as well as bits and pieces from other mythologies quite inventively.

The others authors of the pictured novels (besides Manfred Weinland) are Uwe Voehl (vol. 38), Carter Jackson (Taschenheft vol. 9) and Timothy Stahl (Taschenheft Vol 17, 18, 37, 54).

Overview of the whole Vampira series at gruselromane.de

Cover: © Bastei Lübbe

 

Fabian Fröhlich, Vampira, Landrus Sohn

Landrus Sohn

Fabian Fröhlich | Fantastische Illustrationen | Fantastic Illustrations

Titelbilder für die Heftromanserie Vampira, 1992–98

Vampira, Gefangen in der Zeit

Gefangen in der Zeit

Vampira ist eine Grusel-Heftromanserie, die von 1994 bis 1999 im Bastei-Verlag erschien und 110 Ausgaben erreichte (50 Bände im Heftroman- und weitere 60 im etwas kleinformatigeren, gebundenen Taschenheft-Format). Konzipiert wurde sie vom Autor Manfred Weinland und dem Bastei-Redakteur Michael Schönenbröcher. Seit dem 3. Mai 2011 wird die Serie neu aufgelegt.

Insgesamt habe ich in den 90er-Jahren 18 Titelbilder beigesteuert, Ölgemälde auf Malkarton, jeweils ca. 40 x 50 cm. Fast alle (mit Ausnahme der Coverbilder von Bd. 9 und 27, die bereits existierten, als von Vampira noch gar nicht die Rede war) entstanden nach kurzen Bildbeschreibungen des Redakteurs. Wie der Untertitel „Gefährlich – Geheimnisvoll – Erotisch“ schon nahe legt, war die Devise „Sex sells“ Teil der Grundidee, was sich naturgemäß auch in den Covern niederschlägt (nicht in allen, häufig durfte es auch mehr geheimnisvoll als erotisch sein). Wichtigstes Accessoire der Protagonistin ist ein mal mehr, mal weniger willkürlich seine Gestalt wechselndes Kleid, dessen buchstäbliches „Eigenleben“ im Grunde jedes Outfit rechtfertigten kann…

Vampira, Kind des Grals

Kind des Grals

„Vampira“ ist übrigens nicht der Name der Serienheldin, sondern eher ein griffiges Synonym, das in den Romanen gar nicht auftaucht. Vielleicht ist der Titel auch eine kleine Hommage an Maila Nurmi. Die Protagonistin selbst heißt Lilith Eden, ein Name, in dem sich wiederum  der mythologische Überbau der Serie spiegelt: Vom Sündenfall bis zur Arche Noah werden diverse Motive des Alten Testaments und der Apokryphen sowie verschiedener anderer Mythologien aufgegriffen, und das auf durchaus originelle Weise.

Weitere Autoren der abgebildeten Romane (neben Manfred Weinland): Uwe Voehl (Bd. 38), Carter Jackson (Bd. 9) und Timothy Stahl (Taschenheft Bd. 17, 18, 37, 54).

Übersicht über alle Vampira-Romane bei gruselromane.de

Cover: © Bastei Lübbe

 

Fabian Fröhlich, Vampira, Landrus Sohn

Landrus Sohn